Sunday, November 23, 2008

Abstract Index Playlist - November 19/08

It was a cold November night outside last Wednesday. I prefer doing radio after the daylight savings fallback of late October. The dark, bleakness outside sets my Canadian soul aglow, or something like that.

On the whole, I play less beat oriented material during the winter months, and maybe it gets a shade darker. After seven years doing this show and I really notice the effect that seasons have on the programming sensibility. Of course, it's rewarding to be able to have freedom to do this, and to have regular callers who tune in, notice and appreciate my own seasonally affective DJ disorder.

A prime candidate for a show like this is Norway's MoHa! I first heard of them due to their last album which was fairly freeform, supercollider-generated guitar and drum aggression. Their latest, One Way Ticket To Candyland, sounds like a more lighthearted record from the title alone. It is more accessible, there are regular beats and riffs, but it's still only marginally removed from an inpenatrable steel wool audio of roughed up strings and skins. Still, though, for a couple of minutes at a time, the thrash potential is medium to high, particularly in the almost danceable "Sopp Pa Kugen", featured on this show. Given the country's similarities in climate to Canada, it might reach quite a few ears, as long as people remove their toques before partaking.


november night - jim mccauley/alex cline (drip audio)
journey - louis moholo-moholo/marilyn crispell (intakt)
variations/gold and what's gleaming - art af oryx (berlin moves)
floating island - the peggy lee band (drip audio)
copper pennies - pit er pat (thrill jockey)
ninki nanka - jayme stone/mansa sissoko (no label)
algahem taxat - etran finatawa (riverboat)
state terrorism - souljazz orchestra (do right)
willie pass the water - ripple (collectibles)
color in between the lines - greyboy feat jeremy ellis (ubiquity) capricious horse (who leads the) - von magnet (jarring effects)
sopp pa kugen - moha! (rune grammofon)
i didn't sleep - parkdale revolutionary orchestra (no label)
camper giorno - yeah no (squealer)
across the pond - shawn lee/clutchy hopkins (ubiquity)
yellow orange and red lightning - insideamind (ptr)
shaka - twilight circus rmx by alter echo (m)
bodium - mikkel metal (echochord)
hydroponic dub - subatomic sound system (nomadic wax)
a touch of romance - prince charming (wordsound)
king tubbys badness - king tubby rmx by bill laswell (trojan)
a yah we deh - barrington levy (trojan)

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home